Food and Fitness Friday {Super Bowl Edition}

Image

Super Bowl Sunday is just in a couple of days and the most fattening, unhealthy, artery clogging foods will be upon us.  Among those foods will be addicting and delicious dips filled to the max with gut-busting ingredients.  While this is a time of celebration (I guess) and splurging with some extra calories you don’t have to wake up the next morning pregnant with a food baby.  Those one night stands with pizza and wings promise you a life long commitment of happiness but then leave you feeling guilty and alone with the runs. (I know, I’m sorry) So, in this week’s Food and Fitness Friday I figured I would include two of my favorite dips that don’t taste anything close to healthy- but are a lot better for you.

Image

Image      This recipe is seriously my all time favorite recipe I’ve ever made.  I love spinach and artichoke dip and tweaked different recipes to come up with this one.  This recipe has the boyfriend sticker of approval and he didn’t even know it was a healthier version!  Make sure you drain the can of artichokes- I forgot to add it to the recipe (oops).  Serve this dip piping hot with whole wheat pita chips, slices of red or yellow peppers, baby carrots, celery sticks, or cucumber slices (or all of the above).

Image

This recipe is the easiest thing ever and so delectable.  It’s filled with protein and goes great with apple slices, strawberries, banana slices, or any kind of fruit.

Image

       This week my meals, for the most part, were super easy and took less than 10 minutes to prepare!  They’re to the point and nothing fancy which is perfect for when I’m on the go or don’t have a lot of time to eat.

Image

1. For lunch yesterday I ate a microwavable Boca Vegan burger topped with organic salsa and fat free Greek yogurt, all natural/no preservative microwavable steamed broccoli, a handful of organic carrots, a few strawberries and chunks of cantaloupe. It over all took about 5 1/2 minutes to prepare.

2.  Saturday night I ate 1 serving of microwavable instant brown rice with 1 serving of shredded chicken (from a can), spring mix with feta cheese and fat free Italian dressing, organic carrots, and strawberries & cantaloupe. 8 minutes to prepare.

3. Eating out is typically more expensive and less healthy than eating in but sometimes it’s unavoidable.  I got a sweet onion chicken teriyaki chopped salad from Subway with grilled chicken, no cheese, all the vegetables except olives (not my favorite thing) and went light on the sweet onion dressing.  250 calories according to the website.  This thing was huge! I couldn’t even eat it all so $6 wasn’t bad.

Image

Let me first warn you about this video.  Chances are you can do all of the movements (I could!) but it will make you sweat and seriously wear you out.  It’s easy to do, no equipment necessary, an awesome workout, and only 10 minutes long! I will be doing this a couple of times a week along with my routine walking/ jogging.  Click >here< for the workout.

Thank you so much for joining me for Food and Fitness Friday! I hope you all have a wonderful Super Bowl weekend and join me again for Motivation Monday!

Image

Leave a Reply

